Boards and Committees

The Air Pollution Control Board
The Hearing Board
The Advisory Committee
Clean Air Fund Advisory Committee


The Air Pollution Control Board

    This 10-member board consists of the County Board of Supervisors and five elected officials representing Ventura County cities. The APC Board establishes policy and approves new rules. They also appoint the Air Pollution Control Officer, the District Hearing Board, Advisory Committee, and Clean Air Fund Advisory Committee.

    Current Board members include:


    DAVID POLLOCK, Council Member, City of Moorpark, Chair
    KELLY LONG, Supervisor, County of Ventura, Vice Chair
    STEVE BENNETT, Supervisor, County of Ventura
    CARRIE BROGGIE, Mayor, City of Fillmore
    PETER C. FOY, Supervisor, County of Ventura
    MIKE MORGAN, Council Member, City of Camarillo
    LINDA PARKS, Supervisor, County of Ventura
    CARMEN RAMIREZ, Council Member, City of Oxnard
    JONATHAN SHARKEY, Council Member, City of Port Hueneme

    JOHN ZARAGOZA, Supervisor, County of Ventura

    Meetings schedule: second Tuesday of the month, 1:30 p.m.,
    Board Chambers, Administration Building, 800 South Victoria Ave, Ventura.


The Hearing Board

    This independent, quasi-judicial body was established by state law to grant variances; uphold or overturn APCD decisions regarding permit denials and operating conditions on permits. The Hearing Board may also revoke permits to operate, issue orders of abatement, allow citizen appeals, and settle disputes between the District and permittees.


    The Hearing Board consists of five members appointed by the Air Pollution Control Board for three-year terms.

    Current members are:

    Mike Stubblefield - Chair, Public
    Stephen C. Hurlock, Ph.D
    - Public
    Daniel J. Murphy - Law
    Robert M. Karman - Engineer

    Vacant - Medical Professional

    The APCD Hearing Board Calendar
    Current Hearing Board Orders



The Advisory Committee

Clean Air Fund Advisory Committee

    Since December 10, 1991, the Clean Air Fund Advisory Committee’s purpose has been to advise the Air Pollution Control Board on how to spend the $1.5 million in the Clean Air Fund, which was created by a donation from the 3M Company. The 3M Company requested that the Board oversee the expenditure of its donation, with the added request that $300,000 of the $1.5 million be held as a permanent endowment. The funds are currently held in a trust by the nonprofit Ventura County Community Foundation. The permanent endowment has now grown to about $547,000, and annual grants from this fund are limited to the interest earnings on this amount, typically 5 percent. The Committee meets as needed when funds are available and when projects are proposed.

    Current Committee members include:

    Steve DeGeorge, Transportation
    Mike Stubblefield, Civic & Environmental, Chair
    Marv King, Business
    John Kromka, Citizen
    Mike Montoya, Business
    Kate Neiswender, Citizen
    James Reach, Civic & Environmental
    Kent Bullard, Civic & Environmental
    Chris Logan, Business
    Ron Merkord, Business
    Marsha Meeker, Citizen

    The Clean Air Fund Advisory Calendar