Clean Air Fund Advisory Committee Meeting Summary March 19, 2002

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Vice-Chair Nowland at 4:30 p.m.

II. Approve summary of the July 17, 2001, meeting

The Committee approved the summary.

III. Public Comment

Committee member Baggerly recommended, and the Committee agreed, to direct staff to create a resolution of appreciation from the Committee to APCO Dick Baldwin prior to his August retirement.

IV. Staff Report

There was no staff report.

V. Old Business

There was no old business.

VI. New Business

1. Election of Committee Chair and Vice Chair

Committee member Montoya nominated Donna Nowland for Committee Chair. Committee member Baggerly seconded the motion. There were no other nominations, and the Committee unanimously agreed.

Committee member Baggerly nominated Mike Stubblefield for Committee Vice-Chair. Donna Nowland seconded the motion. There were no other nominations, and the Committee unanimously agreed.

2. Recommendation for Replacement Member

APCD staff member Chris Frank informed the Committee that Chris Stephens had recommended Kerry Forsythe of VCTC as his replacement for the "Transportation" interest group when he resigned from the Committee, and that it was the Committee's responsibility to nominate a replacement member for consideration by the APCD Board.

Committee member Baggerly asked whether staff had advertised for the vacancy, and also asked who would be qualified to represent the Transportation interest group. APCD staff member

Clean Air Fund Advisory Committee Meeting Summary March 19, 2002

Mike Villegas responded that staff had not done any advertising, and that potential candidates would come from transportation agencies such as SCAT, VCTC, or Simi Valley Transit.

Kerry Forsythe introduced himself and briefly summarized his background in transportation. Mr Forsythe is currently Deputy Director at VCTC, has 38 years experience in transportation, and had previously worked for Cal-Trans.

Committee member McCarthy moved that Mr. Forsythe be nominated. Committee member Montoya seconded the motion. The Committee unanimously agreed.

3. Fund Balance Update

Staff informed the Committee that the Clean Air Fund currently has approximately \$115,000 available for new projects, and that this amount includes \$50,000 that was previously reserved for two projects that were now formally cancelled. Staff also stated the Board will have the option to allocate an additional amount (about \$30,000) of the permanent endowment for new projects in September 2002.

Committee member Baggerly asked how the fund was being invested. Staff responded that the fund is invested by the Ventura County Community Foundation conservatively, in the same portfolio as other non-profit funds held by the foundation.

4. Ventura County Fire Department Burn Building Proposal

Ventura County Fire Department representative Ken Maffei reminded the Committee that on July 17, 2001, they had recommended approval of an additional \$50,000 to be awarded for burners upon presentation to the Committee of written commitment by the other fire departments in the county not to burn buildings. A copy of that written commitment was included in the meeting materials. Mr. Maffei gave a progress report on the project and showed an artist's rendition of the exterior of the building. He also stated that about six burners would be installed in the facility, costing about \$50,000 each.

Committee member Baggerly moved approval of the grant. Committee member Sauerwein seconded and the Committee unanimously agreed.

VII. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Prepared by:

Chris Frank, Air Pollution Control District Staff

CLEAN AIR FUND ADVISORY COMMITTEE ATTENDANCE AND VOTING RECORD

Date: March 19, 2002

Ventura County Fire	
Department	
"Burn Building",	
Additional \$50,000	
Grant	

Member	Attendance*	Moved	Second	Vote**	Moved	Second	Vote**	Moved	Second	Vote**
Baggerly	P	X		Y						
Bayman	AE									
King	AE									
Kobayashi	AE									
Kromka	P			Y						
McCarthy	P			Y						
Montoya	P			Y						
Nowland	P			Y						
Sauerwein	P		X	Y						
Stubblefield	P			Y						

^{*} Attendance - P(present), A(absent), E(excused)

**Vote - Y(yes), N(no), A(abstain)

APCD Staff:

Mike Villegas Chris Frank

Guests:

Ken Maffei VCFD Kerry Forsythe VCTC